Department of Information Science

Department of Information Science News Item

College of Information Ph.D. candidate leads research team on tackling digital divide

Cary Jim and teammates win Open Data Challenge from Microsoft

It’s a win Cary Jim and her teammates hope to use to close a digital divide across the country. Jim, a Ph.D. candidate in the Department of Information Science, partnered with a group of researchers at Purdue University, to win a global contest sponsored by Microsoft. Jim discovered the contest after reading about the digital challenges of online education during the Covid-19 pandemic. 

Student Highlights

Information Science Ph.D. student, Sahar Behpour, has had her paper titled “Automatic trend detection: Time-biased document clustering” published in the Knowledge-Based Systems Journal, an international and interdisciplinary journal in the field of artificial intelligence. The paper is about a novel method for automatic trend detection. Sahar is also a recipient of the 2021 UNT Graduate Student Research Award. Currently, she is working as an intern for the QMSC company, as well as a Teaching Fellow in the Department of Information Science.

Trailblazer of Law Librarianship passes away at 64

The College of Information is deeply saddened to share the passing of faculty member Dr. Yvonne Chandler of the Department of Information Science. Dr. Chandler passed away on August 8, 2020. She will be remembered for her devotion to students and her passion for shaping their career paths. 
Dr. Chandler joined UNT in 1993 as an assistant professor. It was then that she began crafting the Law Librarianship and Legal Informatics program to meet the requirements of a challenging field.

National Organization recognizes Dr. Suliman Hawamdeh for professional achievement in Information Science

The College of Information congratulates Information Science Department faculty member Suliman Hawamdeh. Dr. Hawamdeh was honored with the Association for Library and Information Science Education Award, for Professional Contribution to Library and Information Science Education.  

Dr. Daniel Alemneh, Supervisor of the Digital Curation Unit at the UNT libraries, submitted the nomination for his award. 

Dr. Jeonghyun Kim named ASIS&T Teacher of the Year

The College of Information recognizes and congratulates Dr. Jeonghyun “Annie” Kim for being named The Association for Information Science and Technology (ASIS&T) Outstanding Teacher of the Year.  

“I am deeply honored to have been nominated for this award and to have won this award. This is not just a recognition of my work, but also the work of my doctoral advisors, people I met and worked with at ASIS&T, and my UNT students/mentors/colleagues who have been outstanding teachers to me,” says Dr. Kim.  

Black Voices at the Met exhibit curated by COI associate professor

Since it’s founding, New York City’s historic Metropolitan Opera (Met) has long been the home for the most creative and talented singers, conductors, composers, musicians, designers, visual artists, choreographers, and dancers from around the world. Met scholar and College of Information faculty member Dr. Maurice Wheeler, was asked to curate a new exhibit to highlight the historical contributions of Black Voices at the Met as of part of the 2019-2020 season opening performance of Porgy and Bess.

IS Professor Dr. Yvonne J. Chandler awarded distinguished career achievement by AALL

The College of Information celebrates Dr. Yvonne J. Chandler Associate Professor and Director of the Law Librarianship and Legal Informatics Program who is the 2020 recipient of the Marian Gould Gallagher Distinguished Service Award. The American Association of Law Libraries presents this award to individuals who exemplify a career of outstanding, extended, and sustained service to law librarianship and AALL. This award is the association’s highest honor. The Gallagher Award is presented to individuals who have completed or are nearing completion of, an active professional career.

Easy steps to help parents grow to curriculum leader during COVID-19

Social distancing is putting more parents in the driver's seat when it comes to their child’s curriculum. Parents may feel comfortable monitoring studies at home but not necessarily picking books, activities or finding the educational value in playing video games.

Two experts from the College of Information put together a few helpful tips for parents who now find themselves in a new role as full-time instructional leaders.